Please help. Bugs - Maybe Spidermites?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by WarInTheHead, May 16, 2010.

1. Hi, I'm an absolute beginner, who, after doing hours and hours of "research" reading the posts and "how-to"s on here, decided to finally jump into the world of producing my own smokage, instead of getting ripped off by crooked people. I have a small box (I plan on eventually making my own thread of my progress), but it's a small box, spray painted flat white inside (couldn't find mylar - that's a later upgrade I'm planning), with a 100 watt HPS light, and a small cheap ass tube flourescent, that I plan on growing just one single plant at a time, using the "low stress training technique" to get the most out of the small box. More on all this crap later.

Either way, I'm only about 2-2.5 weeks into growing and I have spotted (2 or 3) either small holes, or discolored dots. From what I have read, that is a clue for spider mites. I read about red mites, and I think that's what I remember seeing at my grandparents when I was little, those insanely small red bugs crawling around on their front porch cement steps. Well, that's what I'm seeing on my plant -- mostly just in the dirt around the plant. BUTTTTTT these ones are WHITE.

I, knowing I'm a beginner, am trying to keep a very close eye on my plant (only 2-3 inches tall, sprouting from the middle of the first leaves it made). I want to make as few mistakes as possible, so I'm going to rely on these forums and YOU people to help me. :p