Phenibut

Discussion in 'Pandora's Box' started by Zonyc, Aug 15, 2008.

1. Also known as Beta-phenyl-gamma-aminobutyric acid. Has anyone ever heard of this stuff? I've picked up a few bottles over the years and it's quite an interesting substance.

It's derived from from the neurotransmitter GABA, but is also able to cross the blood brain barrier. It's known as a nootropic for its ability to improve neurological function.

I'm not sure how many of you are aware of the function of GABA, so here is a run down:

It acts on inhibitory synapses in the brain, and provides an effect VERY similar to alcohol, GHB and so on. GABA plays a roll in anxiety, and insomnia; which is the purpose for which I've used it for.

Now I've never used any benzos of any kind before, but the anti-anxiolotic effect phenibut had on me was absoltely phenominal. Higher dosages make you feel like you're drunk, but without drinking. It provides the same confidence, slurring, blurry vision, etc that alochol provides.

I typically used small dosages of 400mg, which was not enough to achieve this drunken state, because I was specifically using it as a treatment for anxiety.

Anyways, I was just curious if anyone has heard of or tried this substance before? It is not currently illicit and can be purchased legally in many places.

2. #2 Uber_hampster, Aug 15, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2008
    I see there are a number of stores online that sell it. Are there any physical stores that sell it?

3. I've never been able to find it locally in Canada, so I've always ordered it online.

4. Yup, I've used it! In fact i'm using it "recreationally" as we speak :D
    Fun stuff! I haven't really gotten "drunk"off it yet tho, but i'm sure laughy and just plain ol comfy. Not sure how much I've taken tho....got it in bulk powder. I've had (if I were to take a wild guess) probably 3 or 4 grams so far.
    But I digress...