PH Buffers

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by Intrepid One, May 28, 2010.

1. Hey guys i have a question regarding PH buffers. What can be used as a buffering agent in your reservoir ?.

I have kept fish for years and i know that a person i able to buffer their aquariums by adding crushed coral to their reservoirs, helps to stabalize the PH.

So knowing this is their anything that can be used in a hydroponics reservoir to try to buffer the PH to a stable level ?

I am new to this whole growing thing and i am having trouble keeping my PH at a stable level. When i mixed up my 3 part and checked i was at 6.3 if i add 1.5 ml of PH down it will drop to 5.7 or so and then return to something like 6.2

I have been trying to reach 5.9 and have it stay there but it seems almost impossible unless you were to add PH down a couple of times a day

I look forward to any thoughts or suggestions on this thanx for your time

2. What type of system are you using? First thing that comes to mind is that it sounds like you're using hydroton pebbles and didn't soak 'em in pH corrected water before using, happened to me once before.

3. Yes your assumption is correct i am using hydroton pebbles (lil brown round balls) and no they were not soaked in PH corrected water prior to use. We did give them a good rinse before we started but it was just in ordinary tap water which our tap water is right around a PH of 6.8.

So basically what i am screwed now ? i don't think i would be bale to get the plants out of the hydroton to soak em now.

This is my first attempt at growing, and what a learning curve it is. have my plants with their 4th set of leaves
    PH 6.3
    nutes 1010
    temp 74f
    25 liters of Nutes in the resrvoir
    400 watt MH 18/6
    6 buckets with pots in the lids
    airstone in each bucket / 1 in the reservoir

From that i understand i am trying to achieve a PH of 5.5 - 6.1 correct ?