Organic Hydro?

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by goblueth, Mar 2, 2012.

1. I'm not even sure if this is the right subforum for this question but I did a couple of searches and couldn't find anything in detail regarding this subject. I have a few questions regarding "organic hydro"

1. Is there even such a thing?

2. Is it effective? If so, how effective?
    - How would it rank relative to organic soil and plain hydro?

3. Is organic not possible without the use of soil?
    -I know the soil food web is an essential component of organic gardening, I'm wondering if it is possible to create this ecosystem in a hydroponic system.

4. If there is such a thing, are there any grow journals or threads that are a good/helpful/educational example?

5. If it is possible, what is the best way to go about it?
    - DWC? NFT? Flood and Drain? What kind of nutrients? Are there any bottled nutrient solutions that can truly be considered organic?

I have some experience with organic gardening and I have an aquaponics system but I want to mess around with all of the different kinds of hydroponic systems. My current project is setting up a DWC system for a couple of large tomato plants that are taking up a lot of space in my garden and I would like for it to be organic (or I could settle for "as organic as possible"). I'm not in a situation where I can grow bud, but I hope to be one day and I would like to be experienced in horticulture when that day comes. Thanks for any advice I can get from you guys.

2. Hi Goblueth.

First off, as an organic gardener myself, regarding this statement - (or I could settle for "as organic as possible"). You really need to be either organic - or not. There really isnt a "happy medium". We count on, in fact we rely on our soil life to assist us in our gardens. Without this soil life an organic garden would be virtually useless and we might as well go hydro at that point. Its that important.