Nutrients for seedlings..yes or no?

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by oP13, Mar 11, 2013.

1. I'm new to the coco coir medium and I've been reading many different opinions about feeding seedlings. Some say do not give them anything for the first two weeks, others feed nutrients from the start.

On my first coco seedling, I pre-soaked my coco in a very mild (less than 1/4 strength) nutrient solution and then fed it with the same mild solution a few days later. I am using the GH flora series trio of nutrients. It appears to have killed the seedling or at least stunted it. I posted about it in some others threads here:

http://forum.grasscity.com/absolute-beginners/1189666-help-sick-seedling.html

http://forum.grasscity.com/coco-coi...curling-under-slow-growth-2.html#post17471414

Maybe it wasn't the nutes that stunted it but it sure seems that way. Basically, I was just wondering what everyone's take is on giving nutrients to seedlings in coco. Do they need anything like cal-mag? It seems like there is a lot of conflicting information about this. Thank you for any input. :)

2. I pre charged the coco like you did except i did 1/8th str calmag+. I then did water only until cotyledons are yellowed up. Then you can use nutes. The cotyledons have everything they need for a couple leaf sets.. But then its up to you!

At least that is a method i read on here, tried it and it worked well.