Newbie answers Newbie Questions(Hopefully simplified)

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by SmokingByMyself, Sep 23, 2010.

1. #1 SmokingByMyself, Sep 23, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 24, 2010
    Ok so!

I am a rookie, this will be my 1st time growing indoors. My plan here is to share the knowledge that I gathered from this forum to answer most questions I see come up often that I have found the answers too with a little research.

So enjoy your one stop introduction to Newbie lighting....

THINKING ABOUT BUYING??

1st off... The number one thing to always consider when purchasing a light for your space is cost... What can you afford??

Solution... I am a college student, I know that money is hard to come by! 150w HPS lights are perfect for 2-3 sq feet. And can be found for around 70-80 dollars on various sights (do your research, it will find u the cheapest price. Compare with 3-4 other places)

A lot of people will go straight for a 400w HPS/MH combo for 200$ ( This is a great solution if you are thinking long term growing, the light will pay for itself almost instantly. Because of all the money you will be saving not buyin ur herb) A 400w HPS light could grow 4-5 solid plants in a 6sq foot space. There are various wattage HPS lights.

My advice is measure your space. Then ask on here! this is what this thread is for.

HPS/MH/CFL/LUMENS EXPLAINED:

HPS "the flowering light" this light is used to flower because of the color it produces on the spectrum. It stimulates the flowering and can give u an amazing result.

MH "the veg light" This light is used for the promotion of growth of the plant. Use this baby to get your plants right where you want em. then hit them with an HPS! no need for cfl's.

Today's ballast kits come either HPS ballasts.. MH Ballasts... HPS/MH Ballasts.(good buy) Digital HPS/MH ballasts (lightweight and expensive for a good one)