new grow room q's

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by jacob4rizzle, Oct 1, 2009.

1. hello all!!

I have set up a new room and have a couple specific questions. I have done a lot of research and I believe everything is good but I still want to explain the full setup and get some insight from an experienced grower or 2 or 20.... any help is much appreciated and needed as this is my first attempt at growing.

heres what i got -

ROOM - 4 x 2 1/2 with 7 foot ceiling
    LIGHT - 1 mh fixture with a 175 w or 250w bulb
    AIR / VENT - 2 - 200 cfm ultra quiet bathroom vent fans (for taking air out) and 2 - 4" inline duct fans (to bring air in)
    PLANTS - 2 white widows, more if there is room but looks like 2 will be the max flowering in the room

okay so the room is underneath the steps in the middle of the basement. the room has the finished basement on one side with the garage on the other. access will be through the garage. my biggest worry is smell. i can not have my roommate (or guests) knowing about this room and the only way would be by poor ventilation. i took many precautions when building the room to insure it is air tight - there is drywall on all the outside walls and the inside has a layer of blueboard insulation prob an inch and a half thick and all seems are insulated with foam insulation. that alone should be airtite! from there i stapled a thick plastic around the room to make it completely airtite and also foamed and taped any sort of seam or gap. from there the room was covered with some reflective bubble insulation with seems taped and insulated with the foam insulation. i truely believe no air will be getting out of the room as long as my ventilation is good. that is where my question comes in....