Need help from a Pro

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by Neslojustin, Oct 2, 2013.

1. I have been growing for a couple of years and I finally have the money to be able to step things up and try to turn this hobby into a business. Like most Novice growers I thought I knew everything because I read a few books. HA I know now that I know very little and knew even less before. Anyway I want to set up a stadium grow in my basement. The last time I grew in the basement I had Powdery Mildew and almost lost my crop. Also the flower room would get so cold while the lights were off that the plants grew at an extremely slow rate. I plan on using co2 this time around and running bare bulbs hanging vertically in the center of the room. I also plan on growing in the sub cool mix. What can I do to keep my environment perfect?  Can I run a system that heats and cools my room. What should I buy in order to keep temperatures right and humidity and Co2 levels right where they need to be. I never use any nutrients other than what I ammend my soil with at the beginning of my grow. I use everything that the Super Soil mix calls for. Is that enough or should I be using nutes? Any help would be Great! I want to do things right this time!!!  

2. I think CO2 is overkill. It adds more variables that you must control, and it costs a lot of money. Plenty of growers out there don't touch CO2, and they pull awesome weights. It's just one thing that isn't really a necessity. 

Get an air conditioner and a heater. You can plum a window unit into a wall if you need too, but remember that it's going to pump out hot air from the back and a considerable amount of moisture. As for a heater, an electric space heater should work but beware of how many watts it's using. It can rack up a HUGE power bill. You should run your lights at night if temperatures are a problem. I'd say that running at 60 degrees should be your absolute lowest.