Need general advice on larger grow

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Unstrung Puppet, Nov 30, 2014.

1. #1 Unstrung Puppet, Nov 30, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 30, 2014
    I've been wanting to start my own grow ever since I started smoking weed. I've never been able to until I graduated and had time to myself. I'm looking to invest around 10,000$ in growing medical marijuana larger scale (100 plants?) I happen to have just visited a grow in CA (scheduled appointment) and it really inspired me to perhaps start one of my own. In my state (WA) you may have 15 plants per patient. If I stack cards I believe I could be a caregiver for roughly 6 individuals. I would like to use t5 setups and 1000w HPS vented lights over organic soil medium.
    What is the smartest way to do this with electrical costs in mind? I fear a 1000$ month bill
    How many 1000w HPS per plant? (I'm guessing 4 plants per light)?
    Whats the most profitable way to arrange my setup?
    Should I consider a 4 month lease, or month to month?
    I also am assuming I will be getting roughly 3 ounces per plant... How realistic is this assumption?
    Would it be smarter to have a business partner and near double our plant #s?
    Should I buy feminized/autoflowering seeds? 
    Would buying 2 teen clones for 50$ be a good idea over seeds?
    I'm doing my first grow just for experience. However I must break even if I'll be doing a second grow.
    I have a family member electrician to help me wire ballasts and whatever wiring would be necessary.

I appreciate every amount of information you can share with me. I've read several "grow bibles" and have done plenty of random searches to help myself learn how to turn clones into buds.

Is it even possible to make this happen with only 10,000$? Rent and electrical would take nearly half of it... I'm nervous about this large financial decision for I am only 18 years old and starting my first grow.