Need advice please! Indoor growing question

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by spectrasoldier, Jul 7, 2012.

1. #1 spectrasoldier, Jul 7, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 7, 2012
    What's up grasscity community, I am an absolute beginner to growing and I just started germinating my first seed 3 days ago. I had a quick question that I was hoping one of you could answer...

I germinated my seed in a glass of distilled water in a dark place, after about a day the seed cracked and revealed the taproot/white stuff. So I went out and got some 1 inch rockwool cubes. I planted the seed into the rockwool after soaking it for 10 seconds in distilled water, taproot down. Later on I read that I should be placing the taproot up so I don't know if everything is turning out properly but it seems like it is.

Long story short, I place the rockwool cube in a ziplock bag with a 1 in opening on the top, and placed it in a dark place checking on it about 3 times a day. Everyday the seed has been making progress. And now the morning of day 3 the seed has sprouted about 3/4 inch out of the rockwool cube, but there is no leaves of any sort yet. I can see a little bit of green peaking out of the top of the sprout, where the hard casing of the seed has begun to detach.

Finally my question is at this point in the grow cycle should I keep the sprout in a dark place until I see actual leaves on the sprout? Or should I place it under my lights now?

I know rambled a bit, but help would be much appreciated!

update: here is a picture of it... http://i.imgur.com/4ZLBO.jpg

2. If its above ground I always place under the lights.

Usually a few hours later ill check in it and it will have opened up and tiny leaves can be seen. Also if your super gentle you can take the seed shell off

3. Okay thanks! My follow up question to that would be, won't my rockwool cube grow mold from being so moist if I were to put it under light? How would I prevent that?