Need advice on dropping out

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by Bugsbunny23, Aug 28, 2012.

1. Hi gc this is my first post and I'm 19 well anyways my little cousin(16 yrs a sophomore ) wants to drop out of school and work for 2 year then get his GED then maybe go to community college and so on.

His parents asked me to talk to him so he can stay in school but I have no idea what the benefits are I graduated last year and see no point in why he should stay. What are your thoughts on this gc? What would you tell him? Any highschool dropout success stories? If any of you dropped out how'd you go about it?

2. Well i dont think your "cousin" should drop out..

3. I'm torn here because on one side I think high school is fucking retarded and honestly a waist of time. But on the other side I know that once you break away from a normal education path that it becomes easier to just find a job that you get stuck at and never end up going on to better yourself like you've planned.

4. I dropped out and got my GED. What I did was go to job corps which helps you get your GED and trains you in what ever job skills you want and they offer. Also they provide housing and they pay you a bit. But if your not serious about it, you can fuck your self.

As for staying in school it's a good idea. A lot of places now just scoff at a GED and you can be stuck in menial low paying jobs the rest of your life.

But if you just can't stand school or your housing situation then check out job corps.

5. Stay in school, kid.