need a new job

Discussion in 'General' started by xLoneWolfx, Dec 29, 2012.

1. I need a new job for a few months just til I start working for my dad. Right now I'm working for a construction company that's building houses and I just kind of help out and clean shit up. Most of the time I'm stacking lumber and cleaning up trash. It's pretty hard work. I've been working for him for a few months but now it sucks bcuz its cold as fuck outside and it's been snowing. I dread it. The upside is that he pays me cash. I need to make at least $400 a week. The town I live in doesn't even have its own Craigslist so I have to get a newspaper to find jobs. I noticed today that pizza Hut is hiring. Maybe I could be a pizza delivery boy. Sounds easy as hell. Driving around and smoking weed all day. Only thing I'm concerned about is that my truck has 160k miles on it and idk if that would be a good job for me. Ideas guys?

2. Broskie, you're not gonna make $400 a week delivering pizzas. That's serious minimum wage shit. In California where I live (one of the highest min wage states) that's only a bit more than $300 a week before taxes full time. You're not getting hired full time. No fast food place hires full time, at least not to start out. You also have to pay for some pretty high cost insurance, and fuel (which they won't always completely cover especially if you drive at truck). There's a small chance you may make up the difference in tips, but don't count on it! Plus they'd probably drug test, and if just one customer calls complaining you smell like weed, bye bye job. And oh jesus the chances of getting pulled over driving around most of your shift, that's hours a day. I really wouldn't.

Seriously just stay where you're at. It's only for a few more months. You've made it so far. Nothing wrong with an honest day's manual labor. Build's character and all that.