my setup

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by zmasterflash, Mar 1, 2013.

1. hey all! just got up and runnin and thought i would give yall some specs and get your thoughts/opinions.
    this is a soil grow comprised of three parts ffof one part mg all purpose and one part hyponix potting soil. i have a 1000w hps lamp with a six inch max fan for cooling/ventilation. im growing in a closet that is roughly 2x3x5. i just planted a bunch of seeds and am currently playing the waiting game.

2. I'm wondering why you mixed soils together? Was there logic behind it?

That's a small closet for such a large light. Hopefully you'll be able to keep temperatures low.

3. well i mixed the three because i i didnt have enough cash to get all ffof and i had the other two bags just layin around. and yeah im a hvacr tech so keepin things cool is a specialty of mine lol. i just figured the more light the better.

4. for that space i would think its a bit over kill. usually you want to keep that big of light about 1-2feet away. the height of the hood is usually about a foot and also the height of the pot of soil is probably close to a foot giving you 1-2ft vertical space total. i get pissed having a 600w hps in a 7ft tall tent because i run out of room pretty quick :p

you would need an ac unit to keep that small area cold also, unless if you live where its cold. mid 70s is ideal temps and no more than 85F at the plant surface. what are the temps like when you run it now in there?

also you may have ruined what soil you did have by adding mg soil. if it has those fert beads in it you will want to get it out of that asap.