My proposed grow closet

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by theotherdude, Apr 11, 2009.

1. Total grow newbie here. I have a closet I'd like to grow a couple plants in.

It is probably 3 feet deep and 5 feet wide. I plan on using CFLs, 5 daylight spectrum 100w equivs for vegging, and 5 soft 100w equivs for flowering. I hope to get some mylar to put on the walls/closet door.

I am planning on buying some utility lights, taking off the tops and putting in the CFLs, and draping them over the hanger pole by their cords. That way I could easily adjust the height of the hanging lights. The plants will be in pots on the floor.

I will have a couple fans going.

One of my main concerns is that the door to this closet is the hinged/folding slat-type design, so I'll need some way to keep the light out completely during flowering stage. My idea is to nail a heavy sheet over the outside of the whole closet, but then I worry about air circulation.

So I humbly ask your advice:

- is this a stupid setup doomed for failure?
    - there likely wouldn't be much light around the plants anyway without the sheet cover, but if even a tiny bit of light gets in everything goes haywire, right?
    - Should I try a box setup or something instead?

I haven't worked out soil/nutrient details yet. I have more digging around on the forums to do before I get to that.

Thanks in advance!!!

2. Sounds like a good plan to me.. it'll all come together man. Go for it!

So..

- No, you can make it work
    - everything doesnt go "haywire" but you can delay flowering.. get as little as possible in there when in darkness
    - You can if you want, but the closet will be fine.

Heat may become an issue.. you WILL need to work out ventilation for that though.

:bongin: ~Experimentalist