My girlfriend and weed - help!

Discussion in 'Sex, Love & Relationships' started by CaJuaL, Jan 22, 2010.

1. #1 CaJuaL, Jan 22, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 22, 2010
    This probably isn't an original topic, however I figured I'd tailor the subject to my situation. I need some advice.

I've been smoking bud for 5 years. When I met my girlfriend 2 years ago, I moved in with her and she didn't want me smoking weed anymore. I stopped. After a year or so, I caved and got back into the habit. I was smoking on occasion with her parents (of all people) and she stayed quiet (but of course, upset) and only now at our two year mark has she gave up in after several arguments about me smoking weed. I am now "allowed" to smoke weed. I'm a grown ass man (at least I think so) and I don't want to come home to my woman hiding things. I'd rather be straight up and tell her what's going on in my life so she understands that I love and trust her to be with me no matter what type of attachments I have, good or bad.

She has a bachelors in Psychology and is currently studying for her pHD. It was like trying to squeeze blood out of a rock to convince her that weed is "okay". (She still doesn't think so) I'm fairly thankful that she's finally accepted it into my life - sounds ridiculous doesn't it? Call me whipped, but I would do anything and everything for this girl... all in all - we're happy!

I kinda feel like an asshole for arguing with her and pushing her on the subject. It's not that I don't respect her or anything... and it's not necessarily the matter of "Weed or Girlfriend" but she realised I wasn't happy if I didn't smoke. She's still not happy about it, but I think she bites her lip everytime I smoke/when I'm high.