Moving to Vancouver

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by Floyd Pepper, Nov 2, 2009.

1. Hello. I am currently a freshmen in college in the state of Iowa (USA).

I am considering going there to study abroad and perhaps live there after I graduate. I am currently studying philosophy and am thinking of also getting the requirements to become a teacher.

Living somewhere like Canada has been on my mind since I was a child.

I love Vancouvers music scene (alot of great indie stuff and indie bands stop on tour there alot, I've been a fan of the local band gob since I was like 11).

I'm also a dedicated hunter and fisherman, and BC is legendary in those areas. I love the outdoors and the scenery sounds beautiful.

I wanted to ask also what the bud scene is like. I've heard some people say that it's amazing. But I want GCs opinion.

Also remember that bud is not by any means going to be my deciding factor. The other reasons mentioned earlier as well as some others also attract me to it.

So blades, should I stay and maybe live in Vancouver?

2. if you don't mind cold winters, do it up.
    asking if BC bud is good in Canada is kind of like asking if Cali bud is good in the States
    i live in Canada but not BC unfortunately. i have a few friends in BC though and they always rave about their bud and some of the better bud i've had was claimed to be from BC. but talk is talk.

3. vancouver has some of the best bud in the world, and the most playmates come from vancouver.

4. I've been around North America a bit and BC is hands down the most beautiful place I've ever been. It doesn't get THAT cold (for Canada) and in Stanley Park (Victoria just up the Street from Vancouver) you'll see crocus's blooming in late Jan/Feb... I'd say its more mild but definitely rainy (if your on the left side of the mountains (west).
    I'm from Toronto BTW and we joke that all our fruits and nuts went west too....lol