Moving- Need Realtor Advice with an MJ lens filter.

Discussion in 'The Great Indoors' started by Abundant, Apr 11, 2012.

1. Lemme preface this with a small story: I'm a 30-somthing professional, married, no kiddos (likely not going to have them). My wife and I are both former military and looking to move to Cali. If you check my profile you can see I was planning on something in the Antelope Valley (perhaps I was too optimistic)

We are moving for 2 reasons; a.) We own and operate a small business and we want to move towards a net 0 energy home. b.) We want to be legal when taking care of our medical needs (both PTSD and physically injured during military service), marijuana quite simply replaces a metric ton of prescriptions.

What I would like to know is what are some good places for us to be looking into, besides the Lancaster/Palmdale area?

Here is what you'll need to know: We have the cash (not a loan) to purchase a 4 to 6 bedroom 3+ bath home, in the Antelope Valley area. Incidentally we are not looking for that large of a space. Ideally we are looking only for a 4+ bedroom, 2+ bath, single story (we are injured so this is a must). To make this even easier to understand we really only need 2 bedrooms and a LARGE room for our business (so a finished garage with a carport would fit our needs as well)

Efficient upgrades are a big PLUS for us (e.g.; low flow toilets, low drip or arid lanscaping, south facing roof, networked home, upgraded thermostat, re-purposed materials, etc.)

We have lived in Asia for many years and are used to smaller living spaces, we do not need vaulted ceilings, "open concept" floor plans, or anything else that is a silly waste of space.

Ideally we are looking for 300 to 400 sq ft. for the business and 1500 sq ft for the home, total of 1800 minimum to 2000(ish) exceptions can be made as our business is growing rapidly.