Mother plant

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by SedatedNate, Jun 30, 2017.

1. What's up homies, I've had a mother plant that I've been keeping alive for the past 4-5 months. It's been sitting in a 3 gallon pot for a long time now and I'm sure it's rootbound. I was wondering if it's possible to transfer her into a larger pot at this point? Is there a tenchinque to release the roots without damaging her? Or will she continue to grow if I just transfer her directly into a larger pot? Any info helps, thanks!!

2. let the bucket dry out ..almost until the plant is wilting...then gently Jolley it out of the 3 gallon pot..by the base of the plant ..careful not to break it...when it's dry the soil "cakes" and contracts so it's easier to handle...don't try it wet...roots will rip off....after you have it out simply place it in a bigger container and surround with the same medium...then immediately water it....if it's root bound it'll take a week or 2 to get going ..but it will be patient...

good luck and good grows

Sent from my SM-G600FY using Tapatalk

• Like Like x 2
  3. If the pot is plastic it helps to squeeze the sides a bit so it doesn't stick. I transplant a day or two after watering.
    Don't do anything to the roots, just plop it in some new soil.
    Consider using a smart pot or something to prevent it from getting root bound again.

• Like Like x 2
  4. transplanting is best done when the medium is dry..*universal knowledge....

try it wet you'll regret..

good luck and good grows...

5. Ah I actually have it in fabric pots, I forgot that's what they are meant to prevent haha, okay so a classic transfer can be done at any point in the veg stage? I usually transfer when it's wet, like a sand castle. Good info to know thanks man