Minimum amount of time before switching to 12/12.

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by silario, Jun 7, 2008.

1. I am still new to this in practice. What would be the minimum amount of time before I can switch to 12/12 if I am not harvesting for either amount or potency?

2. I never put them in before 3 wks from seed, but find that 4 is much easier on the plant . Going in early works, but it slows the plant down enough to make it worth while to veg. a little longer. Before 4 wks the plant is establishing a root system and developing it's shape- it really gets messed up by switching. At 4 wks or more the plants welcome the 12/12 and go right into stretch and show flowers quickly, while the early plants dilly-dally while they try to sort out the confusion. In the end they'll be ready at the same time, but the early gals will be scrawnier, lighter colored, and more likely to succumb to stress, heat, insects, pH, and nutes.
    It's hard to waitsometimes, but well worth the extra few days on the front end.

3. You can flower any marijuana plant when the cotyledons fall off.
    Give it 1/4 of the normal ammount of flower nutrient the second day of 12/12 to help it transition.

peace

4. thanks. For those wondering I am only crossing a few bagseed seeds from the some mother to get predictible genetics of those that I will grow for harvesting. Perhaps in the long run, with the correct selective breeding I can turn out something pretty good.

5. I switch mine to 12/12 after 10 days. It all depends on your grow setup and plant type. First thing you want to do is establish (on paper) your target finishing height. Mine is 4.5'. Then do a test grow and veg for 30 days. Measure your finish height and compare it to what your target is. Adjust your veg time to get your target.

Day one of veg (rooted clone)
    [​IMG]

Ten days later I switch the light to 12/12.
    1st day of flowering.
    [​IMG]