Math...

Discussion in 'General' started by iamgoober14, Jul 12, 2010.

1. I'm an engineer, so i'm required to take lots and lots of calculus, at first I was pretty upset about it, but now that i'm in calc 3, the shit just amazes me...we all sit here getting high and think of some crazy idea and think were the shit because we have an interesting hypothesis. i can't even imagine being the dude that discovered derivatives and integrals...smoking a bowl and discovering that shit, now that would be awesome

so, what's some cool shit about math that you've learned?

the thread with the psychic program is an example, think of any two digit number, add the two digits together, and subtract the sum from your original two digit number...then they show you all of these symbols above numbers 10-99, and it always guesses your symbol...the thing is, the same symbol is above every multiple of 9...whoever figured out that you get a multiple of 9 every time you do that...damn, props to that guy

and another thing, whoever discovered the wheel, yea that dudes pretty awesome, but imagine the days when nothing was discovered, it would be pretty easy to figure something out...these days, everything is already discovered..people dedicate their lives trying to find new elements, and most of them are man made and impossible to find in nature anyway...theres not much left to discover, i feel like someone is going to discover a whole new dimension or something and it's just going to open up a world of opportunities...it's gonna take some really special people to discover the future

2. Dude. I dropped out of HS basically in freshman year, so I missed ALOT of shit, but many people consider me smart... Whatever...

Anyway, I'm really into Astronomy and I'm aware that you need to know Trigonometry and Calculus.

But my question to you is this:

What field of math is it that uses the formulas? Like e=MC2?

I want to learn my formulas and what the greek letters stand for (as far as numerics).