Martial Arts

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by snakeyG, Mar 20, 2013.

1. Sup GC,

Was looking through some threads the other day and met a guy that did MMA and was wondering if any others on GC did any martial arts or would like to start so I made this thread. Just post anything and everything about martial arts and if you fight competitivley you could post your weightclass/height/fighting style/etc? And as were on a marijuana site, do you smoke before training because I know I do before every strength and condition session :smoking:

2. Muay Thai here. 6'2 190. I smoke after I train not before

3. Nice, I did a six week muay thai course to help my stand up and the knees and elbows are brutal.

4. I've been doing some MMA training for about 10 months now.

I try to train twice a day.
    And I only smoke after training.

5. brazilian jiu jitsu and a little boxing. i dont train "mma" cause that is not a martial art its a sport lol
    maybe ill compete in it tho, all the mma gyms around here are bs tho so i train at a jiu jitsu school only

6. I meant train to fight in mma competitions, I train bjj aswell, a little boxing, muay thai, judo when I was younger and kickboxing.

7. No need to be a smart arse bout it yano wot I ment!!!

8. i practice jiu jitsu, boxing, muay thai, sambo, and judo.
    my amateur mma record is 8-3
    6'0 i fight at lightweight

9. Started MMA before few weeks.
    I dont smoke anymore.
    5'8
    150 pounds

10. Bjj is fantastic. If you're just trying to get in shape, lots of mma gyms offer fitness classes, which can be quite a bit cheaper. But being in the environment can keep you motivated, and when you earn enough, you can pick up more expensive classes (like bjj, which tends to be close to $100/mo). Of course, idk your situation, just throwing it out there.

Here are a couple recent videos illustrating a fitness endeavor my buddy has recently taken.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prWLtaymtM8[/ame]