Marijuana Pricing Project

Discussion in 'General' started by carvershores, Apr 17, 2009.

1. #1 carvershores, Apr 17, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 17, 2009
    Hello fellow blades,
    Ive got an idea and this is the perfect place to run it by!

Let me start off by letting you all that I'm a web developer and have been doing so for about 8 years. I'm currently pursuing my B.S. in Computer Science so I'll probably end up doing something programming related in the future too(just more advanced).

I am good with HTML, CSS, JavaScript(not too shabby but not all that either), PHP, SQL, and i'm good with alot of other stuff too.

Im alrite with command line linux and Ive managed over 20 dedicated servers at once(over seas).

Ive made 3 successful websites in my career(if you wanna call it that lol) with the highest getting over 300,000 impressions per day(about 25,000 unique daily).

So as you can see im not a noob(not a professional either, YET ;).

The one thing im not so good at is graphic design(I can do some stuff but you could pretty much say I suck). I know a couple people who could help me out if I get serious though(mabe some fellow blades???).

So anyways heres the idea(I know im not the first to think of this but I can def be the first to implement it nicely):
    I want to create a website where people can upload photo(s) of their pickup(s) and price them. Some info I know ill be getting(more as I expand the site):
    Weight(1G-1LB etc..)
    Price(different currencys).
    Location(country, city, zip?).
    Quality(Low, Mid, High)

Obiously once I get things more planned out I'll probably find other things that I can record to make the info more useful.

So basically I'll take this info(which will be stored via SQL) and apply it to the PHP script that i'll make which will be sort of like a directory. People will be able to type in their location and see the average prices for diff amounts(grams, ounces, pounds, etc..).