Marijuana Is A Gateway Drug

Discussion in 'General' started by BluntBurna, Jun 2, 2008.

1. Over the years I've done many speeches and written many pro marijuana papers for various classes. I've always believed that marijuana was not a gateway drug. My view was, whether a person does or does not smoke marijuana has no influence on whether or not the person will do other various drugs.

Well, I've been cruising these forums for over 2 years now and the amount of different types of drugs that get talked about on here really makes me think. Ecstasy, crack, meth, prescription pills etc etc, you name it, it's been talked about. It appears to me that the majority of people who started with marijuana go on to more dangerous and serious drugs like heroine, meth, angel dust etc. Also, I don't really agree with the comeback, "well, alcohol and cigarettes are really gateway drugs." Sure, they are drugs, but they are also legal. Once you start doing illegal drugs the boundary between them begins to dissipate.

What does everyone think? This just came to my mind a few minutes ago.

2. No. nononononono.

I know loads of people who smoke weed. I also know loads of people who take other drugs who do not smoke weed. IMO I don't think its a gateway drug, atleast its not shown to be from my own experiences.

The only sense of it being a gateway drug is that it puts you into the 'people-that-are-alright-with-drugs sphere'. Beyond that the decision is 100% up to the person.

3. If anything I say pot elightens you to realize that most drugs aren't that bad for you and in moderation and with will power most drugs aren't. I say it's the person who determines whether they allow pot to be a gateway drug or not.

I personally think Alcohol is a gateway drug. I know plenty of people who don't smoke cigarettes but only do it when they are drunk/drinking. But no scietentists try to prove alcohol being a gateway drug because pot has bad propoganda to it.