Making your grow run alot smoother and efficiently

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Growguy897, Dec 23, 2012.

1. Hello I have been viewing these forums for a couple of years now and learned a lot about growing reading posts on this forum. I decided to make a post myself to help others, like this forum has helped me.

One thing that there is not a lot of posts on here about, is timers. Just the type of timers you use in your grow can greatly effect how much control you have over your entire grow set up. I have been using ebb and flow SOG style. I started out buying the cheapest supplys I could on a tight budget. Buying lights and nutes can get pretty expensive, so I decided to go cheap on timers to save some money. I bought the cheap dial type timers. Here's the thing though, these timers can only be adjusted in 30min increments. On the other hand digital timers can be adjusted down to the minute!

Using the cheap timers my pumps that flooded my plants with nutes would have to run for at least 30 min straight during watering times. My plants started showing signs of over watering and root rot pretty quick. So after losing a lot of my plants I went out and bought a digital timer, which was programmable down to the minute. With this timer I set more customized watering times. Like have them turn on a few times a day for 10-15 min at a time. I could easily adjust these timers, if I saw my plants were drooping a little I would just turn the watering time down a little. Or if they looked to dry I would turn the watering time up a little just a few minutes made a huge difference!