Lumens per sq. ft??

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Deyo, May 16, 2011.

1. Hey everyone! Long time reader, first time grower.
    I just recently purchased a StealthHydro Dual Spectrum II kit, I also added another Dual Spectrum 65 lighting package and some White/Poly to construct my own DIY grow tent. Now, I am a beginner, but feel somewhat confident due to the fact I've been reading tons of how-to's for years now, and the SH bubbleponics looks foolproof enough to begin with. Nevertheless this is my first grow, and Im expecting the unexpected...

Recently I was reading a thread by Roseman & PurpDaddy that mentioned the required lighting in a grow room using this particular SH kit that raised a question. With the lights I purchased, I'll have 15,200 lumens. (I think) According to the thread I was reading, it stated that marijuana requires a minimum 3000 lumens per sq. foot. (7000-10,000 optimal) Now, it didn't specify if this applied to CFL, since I'll have them 2-3 inches away from the plants at all times. But if this information is correct, is it suggesting that for 15,200 lumens, my grow space can only be 2'x2'? (4 sq. ft.) I'm sure there are factors such as if I'll being doing SOG or LSG or SCROG, but I still haven't decided, since it's my first grow.

Anyhow, I'll being doing this in a closet, where stealth is not an issue, and my budget is spent. The closet is 16 sq. foot. I'd like to utilize the entire closet so to leave room for growth, but, figured I ask for advice. I have a 10'x25' roll of Panda film, so I have some choices here. Given the fact that I'll have 4 CFL, Dual Spectrum lights, 15,200 lumens, what size would you suggest I build my grow room?

Also, I wont bore you with a first-time grow journal, but if you have any advice for my particular set-up, or specs on a suitable grow room, I'd really appreciate it. For other advice, I'll search the boards since I'm sure all my Q's have already been answered there. Lol.