Losing your first love

Discussion in 'Sex, Love & Relationships' started by HookedonPhonics, May 13, 2010.

1. Basically, to cut a long story short, i would like some advice on how i'm feeling - and how to get over and move on - about my ex girlfriend.

I've been going out with a girl for 2 years now, and it's been amazing (or so it seems in hindsight now) and everything seemed to be going strong until about 3 weeks ago. We had plans to go travelling around Asia during this summer, and basically took a year out before university for the sole purpose of going. I've been working straight for 8 months trying to save up enough money to go and had finally saved up enough to be go and then my girlfriend drops the bombshell on me - she didn't want to go anymore.

There were a lot of complications surrounding the trip - one being that Thailand is having problems at the moment and that was where she really wanted to go. Also i think the pressure of being away from home and trying to explore Asia over 7 countries in 10 weeks just became too much for her. We had also been having a lot of arguments leading up to it and she said she didn't want to go away together with the possible conclusion of one of us having to come home early and the trip being a waste of money. Anyway, in the end she told me all this, we talked for ages and ended up breaking up in tears.

The next day we had crisis talks and got back together briefly before splitting again without really giving the relationship any chance to progress or try and fix it - this could of been because at this point we were still going to go travelling. Now we are both staying home for the summer together and have been texting - i was hoping that maybe this would lead to more - but she has made it pretty clear she wants it to be over and she wants to get over me in time to go to uni....which we are going to the same one together.