Lighting question

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Xxpaintdemonxx, Jan 24, 2013.

1. Im fairly new to growing and have acquired a 55x55x79" tent. I'll be growing 6 plants And have a 1000 watt Hps grow light. I know that should be enough to handle the 6 plants but the Ballast is switchable. I can also use 1000 watt Mh bulbs. What I wanted to know is which light would be better during what time of the grow. I havn't bought a mh bulb yet only have the Hps bulb. Can anyone suggest when I should utilize each light and if anyone has a recommendation for a mh bulb. Or will the hps light be good from germination to harvest? Any pointers or tips would be great.

2. Use MH during veg period lights 18 hours on and 6 hours off (3-4weeks), use HPS during flowering period - lights 12 hours on and 12 hours off (on the 3 rd or 4th week 'till the end (another 5-6 weeks) . You can use HPS or MH from start to finish just do not forget to change the light schedule ,plants will grow but development and final result will be slightly inferior compare to the same grow under correct light during specific grow cycle . Speaking of brands , I like Digilux . It is one of the best on the market ,kind of pricy (around $90 per bulb) but good quality and it is comes with 1 year warranty .

3. Just curious to why hps is better for veg? Is it the spectrum of light? What would the benefit be of using the two lights be?