Job vs Woman: what would you do?

Discussion in 'Sex, Love & Relationships' started by SlamDaddy, Feb 14, 2014.

1. Last summer while working as a forestry intern, I met a woman.  We soon began dating and have now grown very close to each other.  We've never had an argument, and I can honestly say I've never even been upset with her.  She's awesome.  We've been successfully doing a long distance relationship while I finish my degree (May 2014).  We are 135 miles away and see each other every weekend.  We would live with each other if we lived closer.  I should add that we're both divorced and in our 40's.  She owns 2 successful businesses and I sold a business and made enough money to go back to college.

Here's the potential problem.  Most of the entry level forestry jobs are with the USFS and most of their jobs are out west.  She knows that I've been applying for several jobs in WY, MT, WA, OR, ID, UT and SD.  She knows I will not be happy if I don't get a forestry job.  After all, I sold a successful business to do something I've always wanted to do, forestry.  She's told me she wants me to be happy and that we'll work it out.  These entry level jobs are temporary and I'd be done in October.  She can't move with me because of her businesses.

Here are my options as I see it:
    1.  Say the hell with being a forester and find a job near her.
    2.  Trust that it will work out and take the first entry level job in forestry that I can find.

What do you guys think?

2. Follow your dreams and try and work it out. She isn't going to leave her businesses.

If you don't follow your dreams you may resent her later in life for it.

3. Is there anything that you could do and remain close to her that would still be fulfilling for you? Enough so that you wouldn't feel like you were losing out and eventully harbor resentment toward her for it?

It is a tough call.