Is it possible

Discussion in 'Science and Nature' started by Omniusanity, Dec 8, 2012.

1. to be and mold yourself in to a self taught physicists using the internet. As far as my math goes the highest i got with math is pre calculus am i doomed?. Another question regarding math used in physics could i skip some math and go straight to topology lol?, Or could i just skip math all together and be a theory man while the math monkeys work out my theories if i were to ever have any?.

2. I'm not a physicist but I can assure you that it is not possible to become even a mediocre physicist without schooling. The math used in physics goes far beyond pre calculus that at the very least you would need a personal tutor in order to learn them. I think you're also confused as to what theoretical physicists do because they use more math than experimental physicists. In fact basically all they do is use math.

3. If you want to get a science job then no.

If you want to build.robots in your garrage then sure why not

4. Ok so what about a experimental physicist then?.

5. Sure, you can do anything you put your mind to. Your mind however seems to want to take a lot of short cuts:p If you want to get serious about science than you have to get REALLY serious and start learning every thing you can get your hands on. It would be a LOT of HARD HARD work, probably a life time devotion to becoming a self taught physicist.

Oh and yes, you'll need to know math, at least calculus. calc helps explain physics in concrete terms, nobody will listen to nonsense "theory".

6. You need to have a good concept of math to be a physicists.

7. Experimental physics will at the very least require up to Calculus III. Learning that on your own will take years. In addition you will need to learn about all the basic physics concepts such as gravity and magnetism including all of the constants and how and when to use them.