Indoor hydro/coco/soil cherry tomato grow(Biology Lab experiment)

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by NugNation, Feb 13, 2013.

1. Whats up Grasscity? Im growing Tiny Tim cherry tomatos for my bio lab. My plants will exhibit different vairables such as grow medium, nutes, and lighting. Ive never grown anything but MJ which was done in soil and coco. Im new to hydro. Ill be doing a DWC set up in a three gallon bucket. I put half of my seeds in a wet paper towel in a ziplock in a heating pad today. Im neverous about starting these tomatos from seed as i have no experince with them. I have Sure to Grow starter cubes which can be used to germ or start cuttings. My plan is to drop the seeds in once the tap root is shows. ive read that just dropping the ungermeniated seed in is a hit or miss thing. I hope some fellow garden growers will follow this thread and chime in and watch my experiment unfold! Any advice will be much appericated!! Thanks- Alex

2. I've been growing tomatoes for a year now.

Super easy to grow

Here are some tips

Regular water: irregular watering will lead to blossom rot even.if its getting enough water. If your doing hydro it wont be a problem.

However make sure you don't over water. Some signs of overwatering will be yellowing leaves from the tip especially before their time.

Light. Good luck growing indoors LOL. What are you using? If you grow weed indoors you probly already have a good settup.

Your.tomatoes are going.to be.pricy though

Roots: THIS ONE IS A MUST!
    When your tomato pplants are about a foot or more tall, bury/submerge like 80% of the plant (all.except the top leaves/branches)

Tomatoes grow roots like crazy. If you bury the stem early in the grow season you'll get mad yield conpaired to just letting it grow

Other then that, tomatoes are probly the easiest thing you can grow.

Have fun