I'm making my own garden

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by Cloud Rhinos, Apr 7, 2010.

1. In the backyard, I've dug up a hole roughly 5 feet by 10 feet and am gonna start growing my own food. I've decided to be counter-culture and live off of food that I supply myself with. If everything works out right, I'll be growing about a months worth of food for 40 bucks.

Here is where I'll chronicle my adventure. If anyone else has their own home-grown garden, any tips or tricks? I'm fairly new to this.

Regardless, I encourage everyone to start their own garden. I'm going to be growing just zucchinis and sunflowers right now. I can take the zucchini and turn it into bread loafs.

Here's the giant hole I dug. It's filled with water so I can make the soil level. I haven't put down the garden soil yet.

[​IMG]

2. Add a little seed in there from the herb :)

3. ...I have a 12' x 15' veg garden goin' :wave: Here's a pic of my seedlings I started indoors. 6 different kinds of tomatos, 3 different melons, peppers, and leak (stem onions)

...I've been saving used Fox Farm Ocean Forest for about a year now from MJ growing....I till'd my plot, covered the whole space with 6 inches or so of FFOF. (there was a shitload! LOL)

...I plan on using my organic tea to fertilize my whole garden, just as I do with MJ indoors. I'm curious how this is going to turn out! :smoke:

...if you'd like to see my tea mix, here's a copy and paste.

What you'll need:
    Seabird guano, bat guano, earth worm castings, kelp meal (or liquid seaweed), molessas, a bubble stone and bubble pump, a paint strainer. 5 gallon bucket.
    What to do: