i want to get linux, but im a noob, help !

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by Dubway, Mar 7, 2012.

1. basically i've been running vista on my home comp for like 3 years now, its alright, but i went to a friends recently and he had linux and it looked fucking awesome and the way he described it made it look really good. But if i want to install linux as the default OS on my computer, how easy will it be ?
    when i install it, will al my files still be on my computer ? if so, where will they all be ?
    could somebody who has literally no experiance with getting down & dirty with computers realisticly be able to do it ?

any advice would be great, thanks !

2. You could have your friend who is using Linux to download the newest live cd and burn on their machine. This disk allows Linux to run off the memory of a Windows machine without removing the Windows software. You can try it out and see if you like it without changing your system until you are comfortable with Linux. Ubuntu distribution is the easiest to switch to for Windows users.

There are also Linux support groups in major cites across the world. Many have help classes for new users.

PW

3. Don't get Linux. Its a huge pain in the behind.

4. ^ Yeah I had Mandrivia for a while and I hated it. Was supposed to be faster for low end machines (P4, 1.5GB RAM) but it was slooow. Opening a folder took 3-5 seconds whereas in XP it is instant. Pain in the ass to get applications and the video software just wasn't what I was looking for. I use MPC with CoreAVC and it uses my graphics card for video (CUDA) so it takes the strain off the CPU. The video players in Mandrivia didn't use CUDA so all the videos played off the CPU. Not to mention subtitles support was a PAIN IN THE ASS (big anime fan). It looked pretty and had a nice setup, but that's all it was, pretty. Hardly more efficient and was simply a pain in the ass.