I kind of feel like an asshole

Discussion in 'General' started by belfastbob, Apr 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Well I could make this really long but I'll keep it really short.

I'm a nice guy... a really nice guy... I'm kind and gentle but affirmative and confident so no, I'm not a pushover.

I work in sales... you know those guys who call you during your evening meal to sell you boiler insurance? That's me. I'm that guy. If you don't hate me already you will very shortly.

My job is to get sales, that's how I earn my daily bread.

Today I called a really old woman and she couldn't really afford the product I sell (Boiler insurance)... after all, she's old, on a pension and it's the credit crunch.

Now it's my job to sell and my job's on the line at the minute, what could I do?

I didn't just sell to her but I made a point (for my own benefit in getting extra bonus points) of upselling her to the most expensive package despite the fact I know she couldn't afford it/wanted it...

And you know what... I'd do it again and again and again if it meant I earned bonus...

Does this make me an asshole? I kind of feel bad... the whole "what if it were your your granny" thing...

If somebody tried to do that to my granny I'd fuck em up....

2. you're an arsehole

seriously

3. I do feel bad about it but if I don't get another 4 sales tomorrow... I'm going to lose my job...

It was kind of 'me or her' kinda thing..

4. Yep.:wave:

5. You feel like an asshole because you are an asshole, asshole. :p

Hey gotta do what you gotta do to put food on the table man. At least your not sellin heroin or crack or something and destroying peoples lives when they too cannot afford it after awhile and then they have to resort to stealing/etc.

6. You are seriously a huge asshole.

7. yep, your a wanker. imagine if that was your mum/grandma getting swindles by some shady saleman. you wouldnt be best pleased

8. Gotta do what ya gotta do man