HPS lighting setup help PLEASE? PLEASE?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by actont2001, Feb 6, 2013.

1. #1 actont2001, Feb 6, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2013
    Hi.
    I am kinda new to growing..and currently grow Hydroponically indoors with CFL's...(just wanted to learn a bit with limited expenses until I know what I am doing).

My question is.....

I want to rid my cfl's (and use them as side lamps), and use HPS for the main lighting.

I have seen HPS 400W bulbs on eBay for about $14.00 ..but what I do NOT understand is the base it has. Most of them state an E39 screw in base for the HPS....What is the normal Base for a normal light?..do I need an adapter to turn it into a normal base so I do not have to buy a new ballast..or is tha just looking for a fire????

Also, can I use a 400W HPS wired into a normal wall outlet without having to rewire anything with no danger of an electrical fire?

I am only growing about 3 plants at a time hydroponically.

Please, if someone can point me in the right direction on a cost efficient HPS setup I would be very appreciative...it is a closet grow.

What do I need to set this up properly without any risk of burning my house down?..lol.

Digital ballasts are expensive..and I really do not understand them.

Any help..or perhaps a link to a complete CHEAP HPS setup would be great!

Was currently looking at this.....

http://www.accesshydroponic.com/ga-...ng-reflector-grow-light-kit.html#.URLJMLJlRTY

Is this an okay buy for just a small 3-4 plant Hydroponic grow system in a closet space?

2. No one ever gets a little bit pregnant, sometimes you just gotta take that jump,....and all the other cliché's that go with trying to straighten out a misguided newbie....such as yourself...?

whatever made you think that trying to understand HPS lighting is tougher to learn than DWC....? go figure!!!