hps and ballast wiring help please

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by sensison, Dec 4, 2012.

1. Hi All,

This is my first time wiring hps lights and a ballast and I am running into some problems, the guides online are a bit confusing so I thought I would ask for advice.

Below is a pic of the ballast. I'm pretty sure that the wiring from the wall plug should go into the L and N slots on the 'chocolate block,' the white wiring block in the bottom left of the pic. (they're usually black in my country and this is our families nickname for this)

Is that correct? Then there is the slot for Earth I assume and the last one for LR (not sure that this is.

Ok now, Ive got my socket, should these two wires connect to the two pins on the outside of the box in pic 1? Doesn't the bulb need to be grounded?

Then I've also read about grounding the ballast, is this where the wire comes from the earth slot in the 'chocolate block' and goes to where? Does one need to ground the bulb and reflector too?

I'm really sorry to bother with this, I just want to make sure it's all safe and above board don't want anything to fry. :D (except me after my fat one)

Any help would be much appreciated, I can post more pics if needed.
    Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. Definitely ground the ballast to your wall plug and yes the L and N from the wall plug go into the same block but I'm not sure why there's an L and LR. What you've done with wiring so far looks fine. The outputs on the front are for the bulb yes, no ground needed. Bare in mind I'm not an electrician so I'd be careful and don't blame me for any fatalities.

3. Hi Optical

Thanks for the reply and help so far! Great!

I've actually not done any wiring yet, that is how the boxes came from the shop.
    Ok cool so I'll connect the thew buld socket to the front two pins and the the plug from the wall to the L and N connectors.