How to Transplant Aeorponic Clones to Soil

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by mad4reef, Mar 27, 2007.

1. I recently built a small (8 site) aeroponic cloning system. I have never used aeroponics to clone before (usually use rockwool), but after a little reasearch I found a system I could easily duplicate with a very small investment (about $30) and speed up my cloning time. It was taking me 15-25 days to clone with just rockwool and a humidty dome. now, with the aeroponic cloner I am seeing roots after only 3-5 days, with very little wilting.

The problem is, I have not been able to find any documentation on transplanting from an aeroponic cloner to soil. I have cloned lots of plants before, but like I said, I usually use rockwool and that is very easy to transplant. Does anyone have any tips for transplanting from an aeroponic cloner to soil? I suppose I could go from the aeroponic cloner to rockwool and then to soil, but do I even need the rockwool?

Also, how long should I let the roots get before I transplant. Right now they are at about 1/4 inch after 4 days. When I use rockwool I just wait for the roots to show through the cube. I would imagine they are 1 to 1 1/2 inches at that point.

Any tips or help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Awww do you really have to stick those beautiful roots into soil???!! Hehe

Seriously though... I think you could transplant now and I would probably wrap roots into a rockwool block before putting into soil to protect them. You could transplant directly into soil by partially filling the pot and then while angling the pot insert the plant and then fill with more soil so it is covered.