How to Move On

Discussion in 'Sex, Love & Relationships' started by SassyMelassy, Oct 24, 2011.

1. I graduated from college five years ago. Shortly before that I met someone who became my first boyfriend, the father of my son, and the love of my life.

We went through a serious rough patch and split up days before our son's second birthday.

It has been 15 months. After about a year of being split up I started second guessing our separateness. I started yearning to be a family unit, and to find a way to work it out.

Unfortunately, I was two late.
    Just as I was able to begin my confessions to him, he began a new relationship.
    After agonizing for the last three months, I finally bared my soul to him. I laid everything out on the table.

I now know, without any doubt, that we will never be together again and I am absolutely devastated. I always just assumed that we would get back together again.

How do I move on? How can I bring myself to get over it? Wanting something so badly and having no way to achieve it is absolutely... exhausting.

2. Yeah shit that like that sucks especially when you think they're the one. But you just have to not think about them and accept the fact that you two won't be together again. Same thing happened to me and It just takes time that's all.

3. Time is the only thing that will mend a broken heart. I would start hanging out more with friends to take your mind of of him, when parenthood allows of course. Find the 1st cute person and ask them out, the more dates you go on the easier it'll get. I promise you this!

4. I have had two boyfriends since we broke up, and having a kid makes it so hard. I just want to do family things. I want to be a family, and I can't expect that from any guy. And my son is such a good boy. He loves his mommy AND his daddy... I just wish we could have grown up before it was too late. I mean, we're both 28... so we're not really "young."