How to get a custom piece made?

Discussion in 'Smoking Pipes, Glass Spoon Pipes' started by 5kr1bbl3, Jan 4, 2011.

1. Hey guys,
    My birthday is just in a little over 8 weeks and well, i want a custom piece for my present. I want a standard roor lil sista with ice notches for the tube, but the slide....thats what i want to be unique.
    Im kind of a...geek?....for lack of a better term. I was raised on mario and nintendo and well, i want my slide to be modeled after yoshi, the famous sidekick of mario. Is there anyway to ask an artist to make one for me? Anyone got any advice to point me in the right direction? :rolleyes:

p.s. im a noob on quality glass, but from what i hear...roor is a good way to go.

2. I would suggest reading up a lil bit more before you make a huge purchase on glass.. You can spend a lot of money very quickly only to learn that you were ripped off and could have gotten a much nicer piece for the same money.. IMO i cherish ROOR as being one of the founding fathers of the glass community, their high end thick glass always delivers a solid piece.. With that being said there are much better options out there functionality wise.. You say you are a geek for Nintendo so why not look into a blower make you a fully custom and unique piece instead of just a slide.. If you look into artists such as DWB on etsy im sure you will be suprised with both the custom work and functionality.. Or if you are not into that do a lil more research and find a high end tube such as SG, toro, etc..

3. Go to etsy.com

Look up DWBglass

they will make you anything you want.

Personally, I wouldnt waste my money on a RooR though.

Get one of their tubes instead. RooR is sorta played out now that they are just a name and really dont offer you anything except a 200 dollar straight tube that they did almost no work on.

4. here is what ull need to do to get what u want

buy a tube

take it to a glass blower you u trust