How much does growing increase electric bill?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Self_Exile, Jan 9, 2013.

1. Say if you were to grow maybe 4-5 plants under a 600w light. I'm pretty new to growing and if I choose indoors this is the only main concern I have.

Also my closet is 5 ft long and a little under 2 feet in width(deep) How many plants would you expect to grow in there?

2. hey i run a 600 watt hps as well as a 450 cfm fan, fluros for veg and i also use an electric space heater to heat my space during lights out. i'd say its about a $25-$30 electric increase per month, but lately i've been trying to offset the cost by switching over to CFLs in the lights we use most as well as developing energy saving habits that we all should do anyway, like shutting off the lights when leaving the room.

as for your closet, what is the vertical height? do you plan on having seperate areas for veg and bud? soil or hydro? answers to these questions will help paint a better picture.

3. Ok not bad then.

It's 9' in height. Can you not use the hps for vegetative and flowering stages?

I plan to cover it in mylar and hang a light from the top.

It has no air vents in there so I'm also worried about the temperature. I'll have fans of course but what about these ducts people use?

4. Personally, 3-4 max. You could definitely sqeeze in more if you wanted to go shorter veg, lower individual plant yield.

5. Not much at all, cost-wise.... and if a new grower happens to have been a person who left a lot of lights on, maybe had a habit of leaving windows open with the heat/air-con going, or if he or she frequently pre-heated the oven a good while longer than needed before the food goes in, and similar oversights.... when these things are corrected and limited, many growers find that they actually REDUCE their monthly bills even after adding a good 1,000watts or so to their grow rooms! :p