how much does co2 help?

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by andy83, Mar 2, 2010.

1. im pretty new to growing and just wonder how much of a difference co2 makes, a friend said about 30% but im sort of skeptical, anyone have an idea?

and are there any good links or sticky's for co2, i havent been able to find much

thanks for any input

2. Most set ups dont require any extra co2... Unless your growing a decent number of plans extra co2 is not necessary...lol just breathe into your intake if youre that concerned about it

3. Depending on the size of the area your growing in it can be very beneficial, typically if its say 96 sq ft at a flow rate of .5 would fill the room in 14 mins with 1200 + ppm, if you have it set to every 2 hrs you would have to refill your bottle in 4 months or so. I've seen huge results but its all based off the experience of the grower. If your co2 is great but your nutes stink or water stinks its still not gonna produce at its best.

You could have 1 plant or 20 dont matter Co2 will be beneficial in any application.:hello:

4. Yep Jimmy your right! Just from what I have personally read, I dont see the point in going through the trouble/ monetary investment of CO2 for smaller set ups but yes CO2 is very beneficial/crucial for all plant life

5. I have found that in my experience that Co2 "enrichment" is a waste of money for most growers. Adequate Co2 can usually be provided buy you air intake if the air being brought into the room comes from FLOOR LEVEL outside the room. Co2 is much heavier than oxygen and gathers down low and sort of fills the room from bottom up. But the key issue is plant vigor and mass and growth rate. so before the enrichment can be of use you need EXTREMLY healthy plants using max nutes with no problems also a huge amount of lighting it require to keep up with photosynthesis and even then you would need to pack the room to high hell to NEED Co2 or see any benifit from it.