How happy are you, really?

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by See Emily Play, Mar 3, 2010.

1. I live a pretty good life. I still live with my parents, and even though I'm 20 I still get an allowance (I know, wtf, right?) so I don't have to work. I go to a really good private university and love the course I'm doing.

But a lot of the time, I feel like there's something missing. Sometimes I just want to throw everything down and get on a plane to anywhere without a cent in my pocket.

I've been sitting behind a desk for 14 years. I don't want to stop learning, but I'm getting sick of being taught.

If my life ended tomorrow, I'd have nothing to show for it except my parent's money and a half completed degree. I'm tired of waiting. I feel like it's all I've been doing my whole life. Waiting to get a drivers license, waiting to finish high school, waiting to finish university. I feel like I'm stuck in a waiting room, as soon as I've finished this, or turned this age, life will really start. Life started 20 years ago, but ever since then, I've been waiting for it to start (if that makes sense).

I'm so tired of it all. I'm lucky, and I'm grateful for that, but the endless monotony is killing me.

Any thoughts, experiences, whatever?

2. I hear ya, it's the same shit here - what you say about 'waiting rooms' is especially relevant, It feels like everything should be leading up to something when it's just leading up to another period of waiting. I don't know exactly what else I should expect, some kind of magical adventure or period of infinite wonder after all this waiting... but yeah, I feel unfulfilled and a bit empty. Still, things could be way worse, so I'll say that I'm semi happy :D

3. Happiness is the only thing people want for its own sake. But, happiness shouldn't be your goal in life. If it is, you're missing out on a lot, just to be happy all the time. The Stoics knew this and so do Zen Buddhists.