Home Made Stone Pipe

Discussion in 'DIY and Homemade' started by BryanDaniel, Jun 15, 2010.

1. So as I was hanging out at the beach yesterday, I started looking at some of those perfectly smoothed stones and thinking how cool it would be to make a pipe with one. So before going home I decided to grab one thinking I'd give it a shot. I don't know exactly what kind of stone it is, but seeing as I have never worked with stone before nor do I have the proper tools to do so, I grabbed one that I figured looked like I would at least be able to drill into just to test the idea out. I was so stoked when I discovered it worked and plan on grabbing a few more stones next time I'm at the beach and making some pipes in the future that will be even better and hopefully a little more creative than this first one. As far as the functional design of the pipe goes, it was nearly perfect until I accidentally made the hole inside the bowl a bit too big. I had drilled the perfect sized hole in the bowl at first, but since the bowl was too small, I went back to try and expand it and accidentally expanded the hole in the bowl as well. As a result the hole is a little too big now and requires a disproportionately large (relative to the size of the somewhat small bowl) plug nug to keep ground up weed from falling through. However, I'm pleased to say that the pipe does in fact work :D
    Keep in mind it's a work in progress. I still plan on making the bowl bigger and smoother. Ideally I'd like to put a screen over that hole. I'm also always sanding it to try and get the shape perfect. And again, I plan on making more and think I can only improve from here. I'll update the thread if I feel like I get this piece just right. I'm hoping that despite my limited knowledge and tools I can post a thread in the future with something that's a little bit more....artistic :p

Anyways here are the pictures:

Unpacked:
    [​IMG]

Packed:
    [​IMG]

Top:
    [​IMG]

Size reference:
    [​IMG]