help!!!

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by bermanator, Dec 5, 2003.

1. i just got a hydro system from a friend of mine.. its unused and came with everything except for instructions.....

i don't have a picture because i can't find it online but it is one long cylindrical reservoir with 4 holes at the top... about 3 feet long... can anyone help me identify the system so i can get some instructions?

i've never grown hydroponics before so i am new to this, any advice or help would be appreciated

thanks

2. HIGH All, mmmmmm it could be a Nutrient Film Technique (NFT)

The Nutrient Film Technique or NFT system is an active recovery type hydroponics system. Again, using submersible pumps and reusing nutrient solutions. The NFT uses a reservoir with a submersible pump that pumps the nutrient solution into a grow-tube where the roots suspended. The grow-tube is at a slight downward angle so the nutrient solution runs over the roots and back into the reservoir. The nutrient solution flows over the roots up to 24 hours per day.

Oxygen is needed in the grow-tube so capillary matting or air stones must be used. The plants are held up by a support collar or a grow-basket and no growing medium is used. The NFT system is very effective. Although, many novice hydroponics growers find it difficult to fine tune. It can also be very unforgiving, with no growing medium to hold any moisture, any long period of interruption in the nutrient flow can cause the roots to dry out and the plants to suffer and possibly die.

Does it look like this in anyway?

Attached Files:

3. it looks a lot like that one in the picture, thanks unoit.

do you know where i can find instructions?

and what strain do you think would be the easiest to grow for a first timer?

4. HIGH All, this should show you what you need to know. Ask as many question you want and we'll try to help you get to your first harvest.