Help with making homemade organic soil for some indoor plants

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by mattspyro, Jan 21, 2014.

1. Planning some .5-3 gal plants of various species. Possibly inside or maybe grown on the back porch. Going to probably need to find some plants that can live in those conditions. Any help with that is appreciated!

I currently have humus (earthworm castings), compost, sphagnum peat moss, and rice hulls. Would I be able to successfully grow some plants such as mint, various herbs? How about some shrubs or flowers like hibiscus or roses? Will fruits and veggies be a possibility? I previously planned to add quite a few amendments to this but finances have run low would like to just use what I already have.

Is there anything specific you'd recommend I add? Anything vital I'm missing?

Thanks any help is appreciated!

2. #2 unplugged, Jan 22, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2014
    You have the three important parts: humus, fertilizer and aeration. I'm no expert but I'd say you can definitely grow all kinds of things in there. There are plenty of things you can amend your soil with as well. There is as much information and detail as you care to get into available out there. I'm new to it myself so I can't help you much beyond the basics but you've definitely got enough to get started.

3. Thanks unplugged!

Thats what I was thinking I originally was planning on growing some nice sticky flowers but plans had to change so I am having to settle for a little garden.

I figured what I had would be a healthy garden but that was for marijuana not house plants or something else is it all the same?

4. Is it all the same?

just about.

Gardening all the different kinds of plants will bring you more success with any specific plant. Do to the diversity. You are planting all kinds of flowers and herbs and attracting beneficial insects that defend your garden, spraying pesticides will almost always make the problem worse