Help/Opinions With Decision (College)

Discussion in 'General' started by MrAmazing, Jan 29, 2014.

1. My fellow blades, im looking for reasonable advice from you guys. I am a freshman in a majorly white college (im african american) and im thinking about joining a frat. First i was super excited about it but now that rush week has started for spring semester im feeling a bit awkward. I've heard stories about some frats being racist and all, etc.

I guess basically my worries is that i wont be accepted or if i am theyd want me to endure racial comments and all. My blades dont take this the wrong way, im not a racist or anything its just from all the frats events and i usually only seen like 1 or 2 that have that one black frat guy just chilling there. Truthfully i dont want to just get an automatic bid for the diverse recognition. I would rather i earned it without any special attention but i feel thats not going to happen. I guess im just confused/hesitant. Are there any older frat members who can shed some advice or someone whos in the same position as me, appreciate it.

You from Africa?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3grk-slP0LU

3. I pledged a top tier fraternity at my highly greek school my freshman year. There were a couple black kids.. 

I mean the whole purpose of pledging is to create a bond between brothers and promote brotherhood ect. so if you get a bid and start the process, you should damn well assume they like you and I would not expect any racial shit if I were you.

If you feel cool with them and you could see yourself being bros with these kids then I wouldn't worry too much. If someone steps out of place let them know. 

The point isn't to make you feel like shit during the pledge process.. it is to break you down as a group and build you all back up together as one. If you get singled out with racial names then that isn't very brotherly and does not help the group be as one

4. prescott.edu