Help on HPS light distance from plant?

Discussion in 'Micro Grows' started by BigMac123, Jan 16, 2014.

1. I have a grow box height of 73cm, I'm planning on growing 1 plant within this space and am thinking about using a 200watt HPS light to do this.

With 2 fans within my grow box and an extractor fan (could even invest in some cooling ideas for the HPS)
    would it be ok to have the light only about 5inches from the canopy as I want to maximize possible height? or would this still be too hot with all the fans etc ? 

2. probably too hot ..... :confused_2:

3. i wouldnt even think of putting an hid in a space so small ya need about  18 inches of distance ....even with a cooltube setup...cfl's or led 

4. maybe checkout my thread....(are you the master of the micro).....maybe you can find some useful ideas......and feel free to ask meh' questions

5. thanks for the reply phillyphil,  would a 100watt HPS still be too hot? as u can tell im a beginner to growing, Its just that I keep reading CFL's produce poor weed that's not only bad to smoke but produce buds that are not very dense? however ive also read opposite arguments saying how as long as the other limiting factors are good then you should be fine? what your opinion man :)

6. thanks for the reply phillyphil,  would a 100watt HPS still be too hot? as u can tell im a beginner to growing, Its just that I keep reading CFL's produce poor weed that's not only bad to smoke but produce buds that are not very dense? however ive also read opposite arguments saying how as long as the other limiting factors are good then you should be fine? what your opinion man :)

7. #7 phillyphill7878, Jan 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2014
    hmmmm...well can you post some pics as to what yer' using box wise that is :metal:

check this grow out here http://forum.grasscity.com/micro-grows/1258939-cfl-grow-%F0%9F%8C.html/page-7