Help Create my Mix

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by BrodMan Organics, Aug 22, 2019.

1. Hey all, :wave:

I’m about to embark on a complete revamp of my space… The first step is figuring out a soil mix that I can use that works for me. My biggest obstacle is I am allergic to shellfish/ crustaceans, so I am unable to use crab/ crustacean meal in any of my mixes.

I will be moving to two beds (3’ x 4’ x 14”, and 3’ x 6’ x 14”) and have decided to start over with fresh soil. I’ve been reusing/ reamending my soil for the last 3 years, without soil tests. After listening to a few podcasts and seeking advice from a few very trusted sources I feel it’s time to start over and find a mix I can move forward with.

Im planning on going with a peat moss, ewc, and lava rock, as my base. Kelp, alfalfa, biochar, bone meal, gypsum neem meal, rock dusts, are also on my list.... I’m still a little new to the soil science aspect, so any help/guidance is greatly appreciated!!

Thank you GCO!

• Like Like x 1
  2. You need lime as well to counter the acidity of peat moss. Maybe eggshells instead of crab meal?

• Like Like x 2
  3. Sorry, I didn’t put all of my actual amendments down! Absolutely on the lime/eggshells. Really just trying to get it simplified so I can get to mixing. Hoping to have everything mixed, and done. want to plant in the new beds in 5 weeks...

I truthfully have always followed the beginners guide to soil mix and taken out the crustacean meal...I figured a little out on the way and added more aeration and P, but realized/ felt I was putting in unnecessary ingredients.

• Like Like x 1