Have to move my plants indoors need lighting advice?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by killerkuhn, Sep 22, 2013.

1. Ok I am a newb and started a bag seed grow I got a late start and they have probably more then a month before they finish flowering. Living in Massachusetts frost is looming and to make a long story short am going to bring them inside to finish up. My question is what kind and how many lights do I use. 5 Total plants all lst grow 1 plant is bout 2 ft well into flower and seems to be sativa dominant. The others are about 1 1/2 feet indica dominant and just flowering. The area I will put them is 4 feet wide 3 feet deep and 8 feet in height. My main question is what kinda lights can I get on a buget, how many do I need, and how far from plants do I put them? Its an lst grow so when I say 2 ft that's length with bout 18 inch tops. All info helpful if grow area too small I am willing to sacrifice some if grow area ain't big enough but if I lose all due to frost I would cry.If you need more 411 let me know. Thanks in advance.

2. And when I saw buget I mean cheapest option unless the next option isn't much more $$$

3. You want as much light (in watts) as you can afford while keeping the heat in check.  HID lighting (High Pressure Sodium and/or Metal Halide) is still the king for most serious growers.  Assuming you can get all five plants in there and they have room to grow I would think you'd want at least a 400 watt system.  If that's too much, a 250 watt might do it but the plants on the edges may be stunted a bit. If you want them to not miss the sun then get a 1000 watt system.  The higher watt systems are little furnaces though, so you'd need to make sure you can extract the heat somehow.