GrowBox Clarifications

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by commanderkeen, May 8, 2006.

1. I am totally new to growing but i found this guide: http://greenmanspage.com/guides/growbox.html
    it says 4x4x4 should be ok, i look on this site, there is a little closet or something on lowes.com, this one: lowes.com/lowes/lkn?action=productDetail&productId=13331-77268-851400&pad=true

and most of the other links on that page say they are dead because overgrow was shut down.

now, how small is the smallest space i can grow in? what are the things i can change and what cant i change, that cabinet on lowes says its 12" at the bottom, enough for one plant maybe? Im thinking 2x2x3 or 2x2x4 feet maybe for the box size, would that work at all?
    also where can I look locally for HID lights, or could I make do with something else that I could find locally? - I am in canada near toronto by the way.
    i'm kindof on a budget as if I am going to do this it is going to be done right, and that means somewhat of an investment needs to be made.
    ALso, are there any plants that have the same kind of grow cycle or whatever as cannabis that I could try with? probably not tomato plants but is there something i could plant that I could treat the same as cannabis and it would grow? (something legal...)
    I am definitely not willing to spend 200$ on stuff for it, I want it to be as cheap, and as small as possible, I want to be able to transport it when I move without many problems.

so, advice, ideas, opinions?
    I wish there were kindof fixed links to things that werent overgrow, i got into this stuff just as overgrow was shut down, seems like it was an amazing source of info.

*edit*
    CFL's? I just read a post that they were good for small grows, and I'm thinking ill get 2, maybe 4 plants in the box.

thanks

keen