Grow room setup - suggestions/comments?

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by Pink Zeppelin, Feb 23, 2007.

1. First of all, I'm new to the GC forums so let's get that out there (hello, everyone!)

My friend is attempting to setup a grow room (we're both first-time growers) and has asked me to help so we decided to make a project out of it. We've been pouring over resources and guides on growing and so far this is what our setup is looking like:

Room size: (2'x5' rectangle 8' tall) closet on 2nd floor; attic space above:

We've decided to stick with the traditional method instead of SOG so that we don't have so many plants if discovered. At most we'd like to grow 3-4 plants. We plan to grow the strain "Misty."

I already happen to have a 250W HPS bulb with an "improved blue spectrum", so I just need to get a fixture/ballast. According to some of the guides I've read, 250W (lumen-wise) should be enough for our space but I'm not 100% sure. Suggestions? I wouldn't mind getting an HPS/MH interchangeable fixture so that I can provide maximum spectrum coverage for the two stages. Anyone know of a specific product that's fairly cheap? Also, I want to avoid having to wire anything through the attic or into breakers and all that stuff since I'm trying to minimize damage/permanent modification to his apartment. It is possible to wire the ballast to a 3-prong adapter and plug that into a surge protector, right?

The height of the ceiling (8') may pose a lamp/distance problem at first (correct?) If so we could probably attach the fixture to the shelf in the closet that sits at about a height of 6'. Would this help any? Note: the walls will be lined with foil dull-side out, if that helps the light situation any.

I plan to ventilate by leaving the door cracked slightly + a possible 3-4" PVC pipe leading to the attic + a small fan (if necessary)